TO BE PUBLISHED IN AN
EXTRAORDINARYISSUEOF THE GAZETTE OF
INDIA, PART-II, SECTION
3(iii). DATED: 17.04.2009

ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

No. 464/2009 (5A)

Dated 17th April, 2009 27 Chaitra, 1931 (Saka)

NOTIFICATION

WHEREAS, the President of India has, by notification issued under subsection (2) of Section 14 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951) and published in the Gazette of India on the 17th April, 2009 (Friday), been pleased to call upon each of the parliamentary constituencies, specified in column (1) of the Schedule below, in the States or Union Territories mentioned in the Schedule, to elect members to the House of the People, in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder;

2. **Now, therefore,** in pursuance of Sections 30 and 56 of the said Act, the Election Commission of India hereby -

- (A) Appoints, with respect to the said election, from each of the parliamentary constituencies specified in the said Schedule, -
 - (a) the 24th April, 2009 (Friday), as the last date for making nominations;
 - (b) the 25th April, 2009 (Saturday), as the date for scrutiny of nominations;
 - (c) the 27th April, 2009 (Monday), as the last date for withdrawal of candidatures;
 - (d) the date, specified in column (2) of the SCHEDULE below, as the date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken in the parliamentary constituencies, specified in the corresponding entry in column (1) of the said Schedule; and

- (e) the 28th May, 2009 (Thursday), as the date before which the election shall be completed in all the above mentioned parliamentary constituencies; and
- (B) Fixes the hours specified in Column (3) of the said Schedule, as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken in the constituencies, specified in the corresponding entry in column (1) of the said Schedule, on the date specified against such constituency in column (2) thereof, for the above election.

SCHEDULE

Parliamentary Constituency, Dates and Hours of Poll

No. & Name of Parliamentary Constituency	Date of Poll	Hours of Poll
1	2	3
<u>6 – UTTRAKHAND</u>		
1 - Tehri Garhwal	13 th May, 2009 (Wednesday)	7:00AM to 5:00 PM
2 - Garhwal	13 th May, 2009 (Wednesday)	7:00AM to 5:00 PM
3 – Almora (SC)	13 th May, 2009 (Wednesday)	7:00AM to 5:00 PM
4 - Nainital- Udhamsingh Nagar	13 th May, 2009 (Wednesday)	7:00AM to 5:00 PM
5 - Hardwar	13 th May, 2009 (Wednesday)	7:00AM to 5:00 PM

By order,

(SHANGARA RAM) Principal Secretary to the Election Commission of India